SRE Sempra Energy


Data from SEC filings
Employee count

ESG framework mentions

In last year of SEC filings
Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB)
Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)
Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD)
UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
No mentions

ESG term mentions

In last year of SEC filings
AgricultureAirAir qualityAtmosphereBase YearBiofuelCarbonCarbon CreditCarbon EmissionsCarbon NegativeCleanClimateClimate ActionClimate ChangeCoalConservationDecarbonizationDecarbonizeElectrificationEmissionEnergy EfficiencyEnergy StorageEnvironmentEnvironmentalEnvironmental ProtectionForestryFossil FuelGHGGHG EmissionsGlobal WarmingGreenGreenhouseGreenhouse GasGreenhouse Gas EmissionIntensityLand useMaterialsMethaneNatural GasNatural ResourcesNatureNet ZeroNuclearOffsetOilPackagePackagingPandemicParis AgreementPetroleumPlanetPollutionRenewableResiliencyRetrofitSoilSolarSpillSuperfundToxicWasteWastewaterWaterWetlandWildlifeWindZero EmissionAccessAfrican AmericanAttritionBenefitsBlackCharitableCollective BargainingCommunityCultureCustomerCyberCybersecurityData SecurityDeathDemographicDemographicsDisabilityDiversityDiversity and InclusionDiversity OfficerEmployeeEmployee EngagementEngagementEthnicEthnicityGenderHealth and SafetyHealth CareHireHiringHuman CapitalHuman ResourcesHuman RightsIncidentIncident rateInjuredInjuriesInjuryLGBTQMedian SalaryMinorityPay EquityPrivacyPulse SurveyRecruitReimbursementResource GroupRetentionRetirementSafetySatisfactionSkillSkillsSocialSocietalSocietyStakeholderStakeholder capitalismSupplierSupplier DiversitySupply ChainSustainable BondTalentTrainingUnionViolenceWomenWorkforceWorking ConditionActivistAntitrustAssessmentAssuranceAttorney GeneralAuditBoard EffectivenessBoard EvaluationBoard OversightBoard RefreshmentBonusClassifiedClawbackCommitmentConflict of InterestControversyCorporate GovernanceCorporate PurposeCorruptionDepartment ofDirector ResignationEnterprise Risk ManagementESGEthicsExecutive CompensationExpertFraudGoalsGovernanceHedgingIncentiveIndependenceIndependentInnovationInvestigationLawsuitLead Independent DirectorLeadershipLitigationLong-termMajorityMaterialityMateriality AssessmentMissionOverboardingOverseeOversightPlaintiffPledgingPolitical SpendingProcurementProxy AccessProxy ContestPurposeRecoupReputationReputationalReputational RiskResearch and DevelopmentResilientResponsibilityResponsibleRight to Call a Special MeetingSelf-evaluationShareholder EngagementShareholder ProposalsSingle TriggerSpecial MeetingStewardshipStranded AssetStrategySupermajoritySustainabilitySustainableTargetsTaxTax Gross UpTenureTransparencyTransparentVoting Rights

Shareholder alignment

Vote support at last AGM

The 2021 Annual Shareholders Meeting of Sempra Energy (the “Company”) was held on May 14, 2021. At the Annual Shareholders Meeting, the Company’s shareholders:

(1)elected for the ensuing year all 12 of the director nominees up for election and listed below;

(2)ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for 2021;

(3)approved, on an advisory basis, the Company's executive compensation as reported in the Company's proxy statement for the Annual Shareholders Meeting;

(4)did not approve a shareholder proposal requesting an amendment to the Company’s proxy access bylaw to eliminate the shareholder nominating group limit; and

(5)did not approve a shareholder proposal requesting a report on the alignment of the Company’s lobbying activities with the Paris Agreement.

Below are the final voting results for each matter voted on at the Annual Shareholders Meeting, as certified by the Company’s inspector of election at such meeting.

Proposal 1: Election of Directors

NomineesVotes For% of Votes CastVotes
% of Votes CastAbstentionsBroker
Alan L. Boeckmann249,747,697 99.21 %2,000,785 0.79 %307,546 20,166,671
Andrés Conesa249,853,208 99.25 %1,888,449 0.75 %314,371 20,166,671
Maria Contreras-Sweet248,694,552 98.79 %3,049,511 1.21 %311,965 20,166,671
Pablo A. Ferrero250,578,010 99.54 %1,167,989 0.46 %310,029 20,166,671
William D. Jones241,325,690 95.87 %10,395,204 4.13 %335,134 20,166,671
Jeffrey W. Martin233,641,116 93.15 %17,183,779 6.85 %1,231,133 20,166,671
Bethany J. Mayer249,411,480 99.07 %2,342,329 0.93 %302,219 20,166,671
Michael N. Mears250,282,377 99.42 %1,466,687 0.58 %306,964 20,166,671
Jack T. Taylor249,792,775 99.22 %1,952,436 0.78 %310,817 20,166,671
Cynthia L. Walker250,493,661 99.49 %1,273,025 0.51 %289,342 20,166,671
Cynthia J. Warner250,366,060 99.45 %1,372,375 0.55 %317,593 20,166,671
James C. Yardley250,486,009 99.50 %1,251,024 0.50 %318,995 20,166,671

As previously reported in the Company’s proxy statement for the Annual Shareholders Meeting and in accordance with its director retirement policy, Kathleen L. Brown was not nominated to stand for re-election as a director of the Company at the Annual Shareholders Meeting. Accordingly, Ms. Brown retired as a director of the Company effective May 14, 2021.

Proposal 2: Ratification of Appointment of Independent Registered Public Accounting Firm

Votes% of Votes Cast
Votes For262,541,997 96.55 %
Votes Against9,371,589 3.45 %
Abstentions309,113 %
Broker Non-Votes%

Proposal 3: Advisory Approval of the Company’s Executive Compensation

Votes% of Votes Cast
Votes For244,113,359 97.11 %
Votes Against7,267,393 2.89 %
Abstentions675,276 %
Broker Non-Votes20,166,671 %

Proposal 4: Shareholder Proposal Requesting an Amendment to the Company’s Proxy Access Bylaw to Eliminate the

Shareholder Nominating Group Limit

Votes% of Votes Cast
Votes For61,186,471 24.66 %
Votes Against186,887,044 75.34 %
Abstentions3,982,513 %
Broker Non-Votes20,166,671 %

Proposal 5: Shareholder Proposal Requesting a Report on Alignment of the Company’s Lobbying Activities with the Paris


Votes% of Votes Cast
Votes For92,978,629 37.47 %
Votes Against155,179,155 62.53 %
Abstentions3,898,244 %
Broker Non-Votes20,166,671 %