BHF Brighthouse Financial


Data from SEC filings
Employee count
CEO pay ratio
CEO Salary
Median Employee Salary

ESG framework mentions

In last year of SEC filings
Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB)
No mentions
Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)
No mentions
Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD)
No mentions
UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
No mentions

Shareholder alignment

Proxy contests and exempt solicitations in last 3 years

No recent proxy contest or exempt solicitation filings from shareholders.

Vote support at last AGM

On June 10, 2021, Brighthouse Financial, Inc. (the “Company”) held its Annual Meeting of Stockholders (the “Annual Meeting”). At the Annual Meeting, three proposals were submitted to the Company’s stockholders. The proposals are described in more detail in the Company’s definitive proxy statement filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission on April 28, 2021 (the “2021 Proxy Statement”). The final voting results were as follows:

Proposal 1: The Company’s stockholders elected eight director nominees named in the 2021 Proxy Statement to serve a one-year term ending at the Company’s 2022 Annual Meeting of Stockholders. The voting results are set forth below:

Director NomineeForWithholdBroker Non-Vote
Irene Chang Britt47,192,73113,077,0557,319,879
C. Edward (“Chuck”) Chaplin57,929,5152,340,2717,319,879
Stephen C. (“Steve”) Hooley58,221,0892,048,6977,319,879
Eileen A. Mallesch47,239,44713,030,3397,319,879
Diane E. Offereins47,117,63313,152,1537,319,879
Patrick J. (“Pat”) Shouvlin57,940,8852,328,9017,319,879
Eric T. Steigerwalt58,046,2842,223,5027,319,879
Paul M. Wetzel47,240,50513,029,2817,319,879

Proposal 2: The Company’s stockholders ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for fiscal year 2021. The voting results are set forth below:

ForAgainstAbstainBroker Non-Vote

Proposal 3: The Company’s stockholders approved an advisory resolution approving the compensation of the Company’s named executive officers. The voting results are set forth below:

ForAgainstAbstainBroker Non-Vote