Commerce Bancshares (CBSH)

Data from SEC filings
Employee count
CEO pay ratio
CEO Salary
Median Employee Salary
ESG framework mentions
In last year of SEC filings
Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB)
No mentions
Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)
No mentions
Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD)
No mentions
UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
No mentions
Shareholder alignment
Proxy contests and exempt solicitations in last 3 years

No recent proxy contest or exempt solicitation filings from shareholders.

Vote support at last AGM

The annual meeting of shareholders of Commerce Bancshares, Inc. (the Company) was held on April 20, 2022. As of the record date, there were a total of 121,426,655 shares of common stock outstanding and entitled to vote at the annual meeting. At the annual meeting, 106,490,333 shares of common stock were represented in person or by proxy, therefore a quorum was present. The following proposals were submitted by the Board of Directors to a vote of security holders:

(1)Election of five directors to the 2025 Class for a term of three years. Proxies for the meeting were solicited pursuant to Regulation 14A of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and there was no solicitation in opposition to management’s nominees, as listed in the proxy statement. The five nominees for the five directorships received the following votes:
Name of DirectorVotes ForVotes WithheldBroker Non-Votes
Earl H. Devanny, III78,568,69710,106,11017,815,526
June McAllister Fowler88,167,781507,02617,815,526
Benjamin F. Rassieur, III74,452,52614,222,28117,815,526
Todd R. Schnuck87,392,0051,282,80217,815,526
Christine B. Taylor-Broughton88,370,234304,57317,815,526

Based on the votes set forth above, the foregoing persons were duly elected to serve as directors for a term expiring at the annual meeting of shareholders in 2025 and until their respective successors have been duly elected and qualified.

Other directors whose term of office as director continued after the meeting were: Terry D. Bassham, John R. Capps, Karen L. Daniel, W. Thomas Grant, II, David W. Kemper, John W. Kemper, Jonathan M. Kemper, and Kimberly G. Walker.

(2)Ratification of the selection of KPMG LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for 2022. The proposal received the following votes:
Votes ForVotes AgainstVotes AbstainBroker Non-Votes

Based on the votes set forth above, the appointment of KPMG LLP as the Company's independent registered public accounting firm to serve for 2022 was duly ratified by the shareholders.

(3)Advisory approval of the Company’s executive compensation as disclosed pursuant to